The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Comments on Cecil's Columns/Staff Reports

Old 02-13-2012, 08:17 AM

Why canít we use lasers as ray guns?

I'm no scientist but I am ex-military and a sci-fi game designer. The problems with energy weapons are the amount of energy you need to generate, and the speed at which you release it.

A .22 caliber pistol has a typical muzzle energy of 159 joules and it delivers that energy in about 3/100,00ths of a second.

Your basic unit of work is the Watt and defined as one joule per second. Hold the phone: 159 divided by 3/100,000 is 5,300,000. You need better than a 5 megawatt laser to deliver the same punch as a puny .22! Even scaling down to a 10 millisecond pulse, you still need to generate 16 kilowatts to put the same amount of energy on target.

Lasers with this sort of power output are still vehicular mounted rather than something you could hip holster.
Advertisements  
Old 02-13-2012, 10:16 AM
Agnatheist
Charter Member

Here's the article for anyone interested.

Yeah, until they have small, high output energy source that is both portable and has a quick recharge, ray guns and the like aren't going to be something you carry on your hip...or even on a backpack.

-XT
Old 02-14-2012, 12:53 AM

So, what I'm wondering is how long will I have to wait before energy density is enough to rival, say, a Glock. Isn't there something like Moore's law for energy? Or is there a limit for chemical energy? Can we miniaturize a nuclear reactor maybe?
Old 02-14-2012, 11:53 AM
Charter Member

We cannot miniaturize a fission reactor; fission simply doesn’t work until you have enough fissionable material gathered into a small space. There are all sorts of problems with natural-decay reactors, including shielding. And fission reactors require confinement, plus shielding.