The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Old 03-14-2012, 03:35 PM

I want to live in a log cabin. What do I need to know/where do I start?

I've never owned a home or property before, but my dream has always been to live in a modest log cabin on some tree-covered land in a hilly (i.e. rolling hills) rural area. I figured I out to start thinking about it/planning for it if I ever want it to come true.

Anybody here live in/own a log cabin? Did you build/buy? I have zero experience in buying or building, so I hardly know where to start.

Any suggestions on jumping-off places for this?
Advertisements  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:03 PM

My in-laws built a log cabin on some lakefront property about 8 years ago. They bought the blueprints (maybe the materials, too, idk) from a company that sells that sort of thing. A quick Google search shows a buttload of such companies, many of which will customize your plans to suit your lot or particular desires.

The place the in-laws built is really nice, 4 bedrooms, two baths, walk-out basement (2 of the bedrooms are down in the basement), wrap-around deck off the main floor, Jacuzzi in the master suite. It's in fact far nicer than they had originally discussed--it started out as a little fishing shack, then got big enough to accommodate us "kids" if we came down for a family weekend, then the next thing mil knows, fil is asking where they should put the Jacuzzi. Now it's big enough to hold pretty much the whole extended fam-damily
Old 03-14-2012, 04:07 PM

My wife's uncle built a cabin out of a kit, it's a nice house with all the modern conveniences. Given the state of the real estate market in a lot of America, I suspect you could find a deal on an already built cabin.
Old 03-14-2012, 04:10 PM