How does a DA decide to charge I.E. Zimmerman?

From what I have been reading the only account is from Zimmerman. His victim can’t give his side obviously. How does something like this work? How is evidence gathered to allow a DA make a informed decision on whether to charge someone? Are the authorities gathering eye witness accounts? How does the DA make sure that those accounts are reliable? Maybe gathering various accounts and seeing if the stories either support one another, or not? How does it really work and in such a way that if a trial occurs its all by the book?

It just seems like such a difficult thing to do…but of course I am not a lawyer.

And as an aside if Zimmerman beats any future criminal charges will he most likely face a civil suit?

Pretty much. The DA looks at the evidence available and makes an educated decision about whether the case can be won. If it hasn’t a snowball’s chance in hell, then the DA decides the community is better served by using the limited resources available elsewhere. But, like everything, politics can influence the decision, too.

Already planned.

Not according to this Yahoo News report.

Bolding mine. The DA would take these witness statements into account and decide what weight to give to them before any decision to prosecute.

So do the witness swear an afidavit or something like that? Do they have to take lie detector tests? Or is it just strength in numbers of witnesses? So if one person came forward and either strongly supported or dismantled a case what would the DA do? Seems like a toss of the dice unless there were a ton of witnesses, or some video footage…which AFAIK doesn’t exist…

I’m guessing this is the only element that counts at this point.