Strange alternative history novels?

I was hoping to buy a good alternative history book,but it’s been somewhat difficult to find one.I’d like a book that…
Is somewhat weird but still almost believable;
is around 100 to 400 pages long(I’m pretty new to the genre,so it’s best if it’s fairly short);
and includes some important historical event or historical person(preferably American,but anybody would do).Put simply,I’d like a book kind of like the Harry Turtledove books.Any ideas on the subject would be greatly appreciated.

You can find all AH fiction ever published listed at Uchronia.net, and it has a search function.

There’s Tim Powers’s The Stress of Her Regard, although there’s a strong paranormal element that may be too weird/not believable enough for you. The (fictional) early 19th century protagonist meets several major Romantic Era literary figures and learns about the connection they all share to a mysterious race of vampire-like creatures.

The historic parts are pretty well researched, and the Powers manages to make the totally invented parts fit together with the known life and works of these authors. Some of their choices actually become a lot more sympathetic in the fictional context, like Lord Byron’s insistence that his illegitimate daughter Allegra be kept away from both him and her mother and raised in a convent instead.

Have you tried the Flashman books? Not quite alternative history, more an alternative take on history.

Do you want historical fiction? Or fantasy?

For a realistic take on the genre you could grab What If?. It’s what introduced me to the genre.

If you want fantasy you could get Guns of the South. An entertaining and light read, but not plausible in the least bit.

For something not published, “realistic” alternative history you could read online, Decades of Darkness. This timeline is about what would have happened should New England had succeeded from the U.S. early in our nation’s history. Warning, it is very long.