Is it "bad" to use numbers in your email address?

I think I am a relatively tech savvy person. I use Gmail but had to use a string of three random numbers after my name because it was taken. One of my co-workers said today: “Seriously, that’s your email? Are you in high school?” He was referring to the numbers. Is this a common held belief? I can understand having a stupid name like cheeseface235@gmail but yourname123@gmail is considered ‘high school’? What am I supposed to do if my name is taken then?

Your friend sounds like a loser who needs to get a life, frankly. How is numbers in your name “high school?”

No, it’s not a common belief and as you say often necessary/practical due to your name being taken. I think sitting there trying to come up with some cutesy name vs just using your first name and some numbers is “high school,” if anything.

There was a thread here, sorta recently, about how to go about getting a better email address when your name is taken.

On a slight side-note, when I did fraud prevention at a website, one of the ‘flags’ was an email account that used an actual name. This was, oh…almost 10 years ago, but apparantly that was considered ‘trying too hard and must be fake’.

I never did understand that one.

Eh, I think numbers after a name is a little bit… uh, declasse. Perhaps it recalls visions of AOL screen names.

But to have a weird name and several numbers (like “Rolanda Everready 234” or “Taylur Roofshingle 047”) is ample cause for nobody to read your emails, ever. Even if you are on peoples’ “not spam” list.

I have three sons with the same first initial as mine, which often leads to at least one of us having numbers in his login or yahoo address.