The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:22 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
nginx - virus, bug, what??

I keep getting re-directed to a site that says

404 Not Found
nginx/0.6.32


What the hell is this?
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:28 PM
The Niply Elder The Niply Elder is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Nginx is a web server software, in competition with Apache. Its not a virus, it just means that the website server has a problem finding what you requested.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:34 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
But I get the message consistantly when trying to get to Google and Yahoo.
It's not a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:34 PM
voltaire voltaire is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Sounds like it's possible you have some sort of malware or browser hijack that redirected you to a website that's since been taken down - probably because of complaints about doing what they did.

Tell us what browser you're using so that you can get specific steps on what to check/fix.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:37 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
ie 9.0.7

I've tried looking for answers and all I've found is that clearing the browser history seems to help.
That clears it up for 30 min or so but then it's back.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:40 PM
voltaire voltaire is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Okay, in IE you want to go to "Tools" "Internet Options" then under the "General" tab click on "Options" in the "Search" section and tell us what entries you see under "Search Providers"

Last edited by voltaire; 07-05-2012 at 11:41 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:44 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltaire View Post
Okay, in IE you want to go to "Tools" "Internet Options" then under the "General" tab click on "Options" in the "Search" section and tell us what entries you see under "Search Providers"
Bing
Yahoo
Ask
Amazon
eBay
Wikipedia
Google
Yahoo!Search
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:47 PM
voltaire voltaire is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Okay, instead of "Search Providers" what do you have in "Toolbars & Extensions"?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2012, 11:55 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
Literally;

(Not verified) Visicom Media Inc.
---blekko search bar
Adobe Systems Incorporated
Microsoft Corporation
Not Available
---ieSpell
---ieSpell Options
Blog This in Windows Live Writer
Spigot Inc
---Youtube Downloader Toolbar

Last edited by zoid; 07-05-2012 at 11:55 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2012, 12:01 AM
voltaire voltaire is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoid View Post
Literally;

(Not verified) Visicom Media Inc.
---blekko search bar
Adobe Systems Incorporated
Microsoft Corporation
Not Available
---ieSpell
---ieSpell Options
Blog This in Windows Live Writer
Spigot Inc
---Youtube Downloader Toolbar
Some of those entries aren't encouraging, specially if you don't recognize them. Without actually researching them, I'd at least get rid of that Visicom/blekko and that Spigot/YouTube downloader.

Either way, I'd highly recommend a full virus scan and a full malware scan. What antivirus do you have? Any malware scanners? Regardless, I'd recommend downloading, updating, and running "Malware Bytes" malware scanner to start off.

Last edited by voltaire; 07-06-2012 at 12:06 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2012, 12:09 AM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
Yeah the blekko and youtube downloader concern me.
This is a new machine and I haven't really git it up to speed with protection - thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:09 AM
Sage Rat Sage Rat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Howdy
Posts: 14,802
You might also consider switching to Chrome or Firefox, instead of IE. You should still run a virus scan, but there's fewer viruses targeting the security holes of the other browsers, so you're less likely to get one.

And of course, you should install AVG Free Antivirus.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:14 AM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sage Rat View Post
You might also consider switching to Chrome or Firefox, instead of IE. You should still run a virus scan, but there's fewer viruses targeting the security holes of the other browsers, so you're less likely to get one.

And of course, you should install AVG Free Antivirus.
AVG - thanks!
I'll install that too.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-06-2012, 08:10 AM
mbetter mbetter is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Personally, I'd skip the AVG and install Microsoft Security Essentials instead.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-07-2012, 05:46 PM
goldmund goldmund is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbetter View Post
Personally, I'd skip the AVG and install Microsoft Security Essentials instead.
Agreed. I'd also probably run a scan with Malware Bytes.

zoid, try opening the file C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts in Notepad. If there's anything in there other than "localhost", and you haven't added it, it was likely added by malware. That would cause those hostnames to resolve to the IPs in the hosts file, rather than the correct IP from the DNS server.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-07-2012, 06:04 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
I ran MSE and Malwarebites.
Neither found anything.
So far clearing the browsing history has seemed to work.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-07-2012, 06:06 PM
zoid zoid is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 8,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldmund View Post
Agreed. I'd also probably run a scan with Malware Bytes.

zoid, try opening the file C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts in Notepad. If there's anything in there other than "localhost", and you haven't added it, it was likely added by malware. That would cause those hostnames to resolve to the IPs in the hosts file, rather than the correct IP from the DNS server.
Seems to be all comments;

Code:
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#	127.0.0.1       localhost
#	::1             localhost
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-07-2012, 06:25 PM
voltaire voltaire is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
zoid: Try going to "Control Panel" then "Programs & Features" and look for any program by "Panda" or something called "Anti Phishing Domain Advisor" - if so, I'd recommend just removing/uninstalling it.

I did a little Googling and came up with this page full of people discussing what sounds like exactly your issue. I didn't read all the comments, but you might want to.

Last edited by voltaire; 07-07-2012 at 06:25 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-07-2012, 06:31 PM
voltaire voltaire is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
PS: If you happen to see "Panda Antivirus" as an installed program, then that means you now have two AV programs, and that's not recommended. You'll definitely want to uninstall Panda, if only for that reason.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.