Female belly fat and clozaril/clozapine

Background:
Hi I have a friend who wants to lose weight and has kept a stable weight while watching what she eats. She used to be extremely athletic as a kid but now doesn’t exercise. She used to be called “the body” due to her nice body but in the past few years she’s put on a lot of belly fat. She’s 33 and her arms, legs, hips, and butt are very lean (she has virtually no butt or hips).

Her “waist” (belly) measurement is 42 inches, she’s 5’8" and 200 lbs.

She’s on antipsychotic medication called clozaril/clozapine and it commonly puts weight on.

I’ve talked to a doctor and a psychiatrist but they don’t have any ideas about why her weight is in the place it is rather than the typical female areas like the hips, butt and thighs.

I suggested that it might be hormones or something…

Does anyone know of any possible causes?

I’m no expert, but isn’t it partially genetic? Honestly, she sounds somewhat fortunate if it is only in the stomach as opposed to everywhere. Obviously she should exercise along with the diet, but I’m not one to judge there. And as we age it gets harder.

I don’t know that particular drug but most psychiatric ones cause weight gain, if anything. Welbutrin I believe is a rare exception.

I’ve seen some girls/women who appear to have a different weight distribution - they put it on in the belly and as a “spare tire”, just above the hips all the way around. They have thinner legs and upper body than you would expect from the weight, and in front much of the weight is in lower abdomen.

I’ve seen this pattern on several females; I specifically remember watching one girl I knew develop this from a fairly normal thin body shape between ages of about 14 and 17 (puberty-related?). So my guess is that it’s genetic. From the small and rough sampling of large-belly females I know, I also wonder if the shape is related to PCOS?