College Vs. Trade School

I just graduated high school from a pretty affluent town. The norm/expectation is that everyone go to college. Out of a class of 300 only about 10 went to community college. None went to trade school.

Seeing as many of the kids I graduated with were what I’s refer to as “functionally retarded” my question is why dont more kids go to trade school. Why is a college degree such a necessity now even for those who barely got through high school.

I can think of two possible reasons:

1.) No parent wants to tell their child that they should go to trade school.
2.) Colleges are money making machines and want as many applicants as possible.

Any thoughts/ solutions to what I think is going to be a serious problem for the economy in the near future?

It’s a cultural thing - we don’t place the same value on trade school/vocational programs as we do on 4-year college degrees.

That said, I have a friend who is a cardiovascular tech and, because of lots of hard work and extended trainings and so on, makes WAY WAY WAY more money than I do.

You have hit the nail on the head. Many college students are not going to do anything but party for 4 years, and come out of there with a degree that is about as useful as toilet paper. Eventually they will get a job at a fast food chain or take some other low paying job which they essentially could have gotten without a college degree. They could have saved themselves, their parents and the government thousands of dollars just by going to a trade school. But “trade school” does not have the cachet of college or university, and so you have some people with college degrees either being unemployed or taking a job for which they are “overqualified.”