Mike & Mike

It has aired 10-1 the last couple of days. Is it live, or on tape? Was it displaced by tennis?

It’s taped. The radio broadcast is going out at the regular time.

Now that the OP has been answered, here are my opinions on the show. I’ve been listening to them for many years now. In NY, they’re the only true morning options, unless you want to hear the NY-centric morning crew of the FAN (which is partially a Howard Stern wannabe show). ESPN’s resources, in general, allow for far more insite into everything sports. I’m surprised the FAN is still in business.

In any case, Greenberg is portrayed/marketed as the intelligent bookworm-ish sports guy while Golic is portrayed/marketed as the dumb jock with some specific knowledge of football and locker rooms. I kind of fell in line with that thinking for years, as annoying as I found Greenie’s voice to be. I still don’t think he has a voice for radio, although he sounds much better since they shifted to FM in NY.

However, now I find Golic to be far more competent and reasoned about all sports analysis than Greenie. Greenie’s opinions are sometimes far too “fringy”, if you know what I mean. Sure, they still play out the act, but Golic is definitely the MVP on that show. I’ve listened for them so long now that I would never want to get rid of either of them. They’re kind of like family, with Greenie being the Fredo to Golic’s Michael.

I wonder if anyone else agrees with me. I also wonder if Golic has just changed and worked at getting better, or if I was just fooled by the marketing portrayal of him.