top 5 living mathematicians

who do you consider the top 5 living mathematicians?

I nominate Professor Calculus.
Seriously, no-one who is not themselves a professional, working research mathematician would have a clue about this, and the judgements of such people are likely to be very much biased according to what their own sub-fields and views are. It is really only posterity, later generations, who can make remotely meaningful judgements about who were the greatest whatevers of some preceding era.

Regardless who they are, it will be a matter of opinion rather than debate, so I am sending this off to IMHO.

Here’s a list of Field’s Medal winners. The top living mathematicians would probably be somewhere on that list.

I’ll name Roger Penrose…whom I don’t like a whole lot. But he is brilliant.

No one can really say, not even a mathematician. (And I am a mathematician.) Here’s one person’s choices:

There are more choices here:

http://blog.tanyakhovanova.com/?p=218

Here are the winners of the Abel Prize:

And still more choices:

http://travels.aperiodical.com/2010/10/these-are-your-important-living.html

That guy from the CBS series Numb3rs. Seriously, solving crimes with math and a hot girlfriend – how cool is that?

Danica McKellar. You didn’t really define what they had to be the “top 5” in.

I doubt I could name 5 mathematicians - in fact I’m sure I couldn’t without research.

But I will nominate the one I can recall - Andrew Wiles. Proving Fermat’s last theorem was pretty big news about 20 years ago. I believe he was a year too old to win the Field’s medal, however.

You beat me to it, but yeah, Andrew Wiles should surely be on that list. Watch the PBS special on him if you haven’t already.

He’s on the list of Fields medalists even though he never accepted the reward, but Grigory Perelman would very much be near the top of my list.