The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Mundane Pointless Stuff I Must Share (MPSIMS)

Old 04-03-2013, 01:57 AM

Urgent Homework Help!

I'm in desperate need for some clarification on this essay question. I do not really follow politics nor have I had government in over two years either.

Contrast the role of the president and the US Senate in terms of their ability to affect the national security agendas of the United States? Which institution has more power? Why?

Thanks in advance for any answers/replies.
Advertisements  
Old 04-03-2013, 02:10 AM

We don't give homework help here, my friend. You will find your time better served doing original research, rather than refreshing this page.
Old 04-03-2013, 06:02 AM

The OP isn't asking for us to do the assignment but only some insight.
That said, I'm no expert nor Ron I follow politics much either.
FWIW...the Pesident by virtue his power and resources can yeild a bit more power. However, the Senate if working as a unit can counter or make policy and over-ride a President.
Old 04-03-2013, 06:59 AM
Charter Member

Heh, I actually know this one.
Old 04-03-2013, 07:39 AM

Posted at 3am... let me guess, due today?
Old 04-03-2013, 08:13 AM

Can you clarify your request for clarification? What part of this question is giving you problems? This is a pretty straightforward question. You need to look at:

1) The President's national security role.
2) The Senate's national security role.

The question is only asking you to contrast, so that's pretty straightforward.

The second part asks for your opinion on who has more power. So long as you back up your argument with good data, I'm sure you'll do fine.
Old 04-03-2013, 08:31 AM
Charter Member