The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Old 04-20-2013, 04:54 AM

How can we trust knife fighting "experts" if most have never been in a real knife fight?

In reading this article it made some good points. How can we trust knife fighting "experts" if most have never been in a real knife fight?

Can we really trust most knife fighters techniques if most knife fight instructors (in the US at least) don't have any real world life or death knife fight experience?
Advertisements  
Old 04-20-2013, 03:32 PM

I'm a pretty good firearms instructor.

I've never shot anyone, although I have been shot at.

I'd trust Michael Janich. He's been around.
Old 04-20-2013, 03:37 PM

Knife fighting experts could study known knife fights and report on what was successful even if they're never been in a knife fight themself. Some of it is a matter of physics too.

I'd have a tendency not to trust someone who has a lot of experience in actual knife fights. They're either very bad people, or not smart enough to avoid knife fights.
Old 04-20-2013, 03:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by astro View Post
In reading this article it made some good points. How can we trust knife fighting "experts" if most have never been in a real knife fight?

Can we really trust most knife fighters techniques if most knife fight instructors (in the US at least) don't have any real world life or death knife fight experience?
Because drilling with a rubber knife still lets you know what the outcome would have been without all the blood ,screaming, and insurance paperwork..
Old 04-20-2013, 03:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TriPolar View Post
I'd have a tendency not to trust someone who has a lot of experience in actual knife fights. They're either very bad people, or not smart enough to avoid knife fights.