How can we trust knife fighting "experts" if most have never been in a real knife fight?

In reading this article it made some good points. How can we trust knife fighting “experts” if most have never been in a real knife fight?

Can we really trust most knife fighters techniques if most knife fight instructors (in the US at least) don’t have any real world life or death knife fight experience?

I’m a pretty good firearms instructor.

I’ve never shot anyone, although I have been shot at.

I’d trust Michael Janich. He’s been around.

Knife fighting experts could study known knife fights and report on what was successful even if they’re never been in a knife fight themself. Some of it is a matter of physics too.

I’d have a tendency not to trust someone who has a lot of experience in actual knife fights. They’re either very bad people, or not smart enough to avoid knife fights.

Because drilling with a rubber knife still lets you know what the outcome would have been without all the blood ,screaming, and insurance paperwork…

This. There are very few legitimate lifestyle choices that produce individuals with experience in killing people with knives. Even Delta/SAS/superninjacommando types prefer to use guns.

Man, if we can’t trust knife fighting experts, who can we trust? What is this world coming to? I weep for the children!

Hah! I laughed out loud!

I have actually met Animal, the author of the linked article in the OP. He is an amazing man who grew up on the wrong side of the tracks, has been there, done that and turned his life around.

If he says it, it is wise to listen.