The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 08-15-2013, 02:16 PM

Tungsten Carbide- HOW DO I GATHER LARGE QUANTITIES!?

Hey Everyone!

I am a science fiction writer and am wondering where I would find a decent amount of Tungsten Carbide to melt down?

Enough to make 10 spikes? 2 and a half feet long, and 2 and a half inches wide. For sabot rounds.

I heard that if I melt tungsten trioxide with graphite, then I can create Tungsten Carbide. SO where do I get tungsten trioxide in large quantities? I'll figure out the graphite part myself...

How the hell do I get this stuff? Besides drill bits. If I could find a garbage bin filled with drill bits to melt down would that work?

These are simple and basic questions for something very complicated, so if you can't help it, feel free to express sarcasm or annoyance. I've got a thick skin.

Thanks everyone!

Last edited by Protocon; 08-15-2013 at 02:19 PM..
Advertisements  
Old 08-15-2013, 02:24 PM
Charter Member

Are you actually looking to obtain the stuff, or want to write a realistic scenario about obtaining it.

Either way, you can buy it in bulk from metal/alloy merchants.
Old 08-15-2013, 02:25 PM
Charter Member

Well, you could just buy tungsten carbide. McMaster-Carr has it in the form of balls, rods or flat stock. Judging by the prices, though, your spikes are going to be expensive.
Old 08-15-2013, 02:27 PM

What's the setting? Tungsten carbide isn't heavily regulated (versus depleted uranium), so your protagonist could just order some from here : http://www.alibaba.com/showroom/tungsten-carbide.html

Note that some of the listings on that link are big pieces of the stuff that you could presumably machine into sabot rounds. Your protagonist is going to need some specialized machine tools to do this, of course, and then casting equipment to pour the molten iron around the tungsten carbide spikes...