Why do people the same age as you look "your age"?

You know when you look at someone and think “they look really young/old”? It’s seems to usually be baselined to about your own chronological age. i.e a college senior looks really young to me as a 40 year old but they looked a lot older when I was a mere freshman.

By the same token, I’m attracted to women in their 30s and 40s now but Miley Cyrus seems really creepy. Where if I were 18, women in their 30s and 40s would seem really old to me and Miley would…ok she would still seem really creepy, but at least in an age-appropriate way.

Anyhow, my question is if there is some sort of mechanism in people’s brain that resets their perception of people being in their own age group? Like if they studied a pedophile’s brain, that mechanism would appear to be out of whack?

I’d be interested in any technical answers to this, but I’ll just add that from my POV, increasing age broadens, as well as shifts, the age of attraction. At age 36, yes I find women of my age, and into their 40s, attractive, but do I still see the attraction of girls half my age. Hell yes! (Not that I would want a relationship with that kind of age gap, though - I might have to hear them speak :wink: )

BTW, when I’m 80 and Miley is 64, she’ll still be creepy. That’s just not an age thing.

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m headed to the local high school to check out the hot young teachers.

I think it’s a very slow process that happens as we age, and you are observant to be aware of it. I guess as we slowly age day by day our current age becomes to normal to us. Thinking back, I can’t even imagine or remember what it was like to be a teenager. I remember certain events, but I do not at all remember the way I felt at that time.