Do you like to cook? If yes, why? If not, why not?

Put me down as someone who likes to cook. My reasons are fourfold.

I started cooking around 1999 or so. I’d just broken up with my live-in girlfriend because she’d decided that (a) she was more lesbian than bisexual, and (b) irrespective of (a), I was an enormous jerk. Which I was, but I was trying not to be. Anyway, I was living solo for the first time in a while, and I was feeling lonely. Ordering pizza or whatnot, or microwaving a frozen dinner, made things even worse, so I started studying cookbooks and putting together dinners so I could feel, I dunno, normal.

The second reason is that I find the process of cooking things, especially from scratch and even more so as part of an entire meal, to be an enjoyable and relaxing process in and off itself. I like figuring out what dishes go well together; I like deciding what order the various dishes need to be begun so that everything is ready at approximately the right time; I like putting the process of making pastries especially from scratch. Cooking is simply fun.

The third reason is that I’m a tad persnickety. If I make a sweet potato pie myself rather than buying one from Kroger, I can be sure to get the crust exactly the way I like it, not the way another baker likes it. (And yes, I consider that baking is a subset of cooking, not an entirely different discipline.)

The last is ego. I enjoy the positive feedback I get from people I feed, which is part of the reason I keep making pastries even though I don’t eat most of them. Stoopid diabetes.

Anyway, that’s just me. Do you like to cook? If yes, can you articulate your reasons? If not, why not?

I do like to cook. I’m not great at it… I still read along with recipes even if I’ve made them before, but I like to tweak them. Cooking’s about the only creative outlet I have these days, and I find it relaxing as well.