Learning a programming language to use Unity

So, I’m dabbling in Unity and learned that even though Unity does a fair bit of coding for you, you still have to know how to code.

Unity uses JavaScript but Unity tutorials I’ve seen seem to emphasize C# with C++ sometimes being mentioned.

So, what should one learn, presuming no prior coding knowledge on my part? If I learn C#, will the transition to JavaScript be easy? I’ve heard that the main difference between C++ and C# is that C++ includes allocating memory, is that really the main difference?

I haven’t heard of Unity, maybe because I’m out of touch. I’ve got some hobbyist experience with the other three.

JavaScript, C++, and C# are all pretty similar for general syntax. They differ a quite a bit in the details. JavaScript is interpreted by your computer ‘on-the-fly’. C++ is pretty completely compiled beforehand, and - as you’ve noted - requires some attention to memory management. C# compiles into something called byte-code, and so requires the underlying semi-interpreter libraries to be preinstalled.

C# is the most completely object-oriented, but both JavaScript and C++ allow the definition of classes, though they’re not required. JavaScript doesn’t require any declaration of variable types, but a variable’s value type will dictate what can be done with the value, so it’s still something that comes up.

I’ll say that learning C# would be a decent start to learning JavaScript. Some might say that JavaScript is ‘simpler’ than C#, so if you get too bogged down with the details of C#, switch to JavaScript sooner.

Having dabbled a bit with both, I think that C# is much easier to learn and use than C++, but C++ might be more powerful because it really doesn’t stop you from doing anything you want to do, even if you shouldn’t be doing it.

That’s my experience as well, although it doesn’t really help the OP: his choice is C# or Java. Unity doesn’t support C++.