I'm craving Indian Food! But I know little about it

I’m pretty new to Indian food and have really only had chicken saag from a local place, but it closed down before I could do much experimenting.

I love chicken saag. At least the way that place prepared it. The rice had peas in it and was a big part of the yumminess of the dish for me.

So, got a good recipe for chicken saag you wouldn’t mind sharing? What else might I like? I am not a fan of game meats, so I’m not sure I’d enjoy lamb or goat much, but I’ve probably never had it prepared well.

I don’t have a good saag recipe for you, but the Pioneer Woman has a great Chicken Tikka Masala recipe. It’s a bit involved, but comes out delicious!

I’d recommend that you visit an Indian restaurant when they’ve got a buffet set up. It’s a good way to try various dishes in small quantities. In particular, try the vegetarian dishes. If you don’t know what something is, ask one of the other diners, or a restaurant employee.

You might try saag paneer, a very common restaurant dish, which will have cubes of a simple homemade cheese in place of the chicken.

For recipes I suggest looking to Madhur Jaffrey, author of many cookbooks - this chicken with spinach and mustard should be similar to saag:

http://www.mykitchentable.co.uk/index.php/2011/03/madhur-jaffrey-chicken-in-a-spinach-and-mustard-sauce/

I was also going to recommend saag paneer, which is what I often get at Indian restaurants. I am not an expert on Indian food by any means, but the “saag” part indicates that the dish is made with spinach or other greens. Sometimes you’ll see the term “palak” instead, which specifically means that it is spinach. Aside from saag/palak paneer there’s also saag aloo, which is made with potatoes instead of the paneer cheese.