I want to be the (or at least a) boss. What's the easiest career that will let me do that?

I’ve been a software developer for many years and the competition is so fierce and the high performers are so high performing that the route to even a basic supervisory position seems to be nearly unattainable.

I have bumped in to articles here and there about old-fashioned blue collar folk who aren’t too smart and just need to get a GED in order to be a supervisor. My reaction was, damn!

1. Is it really that easy to become a supervisor in low-skill fields, or are these “John finally learned to read properly and got his GED and was able to become shift foreman” stories really cases of people who were super-performers on the job who just lacked academic skills?
  2. What are some fields where it is relatively easy for someone who is literate, reasonably well educated, and willing to try hard to advance to a supervisory and/or managerial role? In other words, I want a job where I can give orders, review subordinates’ performance, set workplace rules, hire, fire, have a discretionary budget, and/or make other organizational decisions.

Assumptions:

Making a lot of money isn’t the most important thing in the scope of this question, but it could have some relevance.

The difference between a “supervisor” and a “manager” isn’t terribly important in terms of scope. Some fields distinguish these terms whereby a manager has authorization to make decisions on where the business is going, and supervisors are in charge of how that gets done, who does it, etc…

Some ideas I had: