Is global warming falsifiable?

And if not should it not become a religion rather than a scientific hypothesis? The signs are already there. Scientists are openly mocked and vilified if they challenge the science behind the theory. Global warming denial is now being treated by some zealots with the hatred and contempt shown (and rightly shown) to Holocaust denial. Those who have doubts about the theory are regarded as heretics.

I’m not a scientist and have the good sense to realize that I am not qualified to make any judgment at all on global warming. But I do know this. If scientists cannot critically examine established orthodoxies without fear of destroying their careers then we’re all in trouble.

Yes it is falsifiable.

A short reply:

The point here is that if Greenhouse Gases continue to increase and then we observed global cooling then this can be falsifiable.

The problem has been that the contrarians have failed to come with good natural explanations and models to explain what has been found after more than 100 years of investigation, experiments and attempts at falsifying this.

What history shows is that the ones that are claiming to be the modern day “Galileos” are more than 50 years late, the current scientific consensus was reached thanks to those Galileos like Calendar and Plass that had to convince all those scientific groups and academics that Humans are causing a lot of the current warming.

http://www.aip.org/history/climate/co2.htm

Of course global warming is falsifiable. If the average temperature of the Earth is not increasing then we can say global warming is not occurring. Since it is, we can say global warming is occurring (yes, I am being a smart-ass, I know what you meant).

3 things about your OP:

1. I think this exact same debate has occurred before.