Ford/Pedego electric bike.

Here’s thestory.

Here’s thevideo.

Looks cool. Thoughts?

Looks fairly terrible IMO - just because it has a battery is no excuse for (badly) re-inventing the wheel of bicycle design. I guess they feel they can market it better than if it was a more conventional design. Nice of them to spec ‘oversized’ bb7s on a $3500 bike - the guy seems to think that’s a feature.

Aside from this poor specimen, electric bikes have advanced massively in recent years with lighter battery tech. It is a good time to think about getting one if that’s your style of riding.

So Busy Scissors, tell me what’s so bad about the design. (I’m a newbie on this.)

nothing, it’s just a style of bike he doesn’t like.

Ah!, jz78817. Thanks! I have some infirmities. But this may get an old fart back on the trail…

How’z about you crustier turds out there?

My thought is that it’s one of the least informative “reviews” I’ve ever seen. Not even ballpark estimates of of the speed or distance or endurance on a single charge of the battery. Or how many cycles the battery is expected to last – at $700 for a replacement battery, it better be a LOT of them.

He talks about the battery location (over the back wheel where a rack would normally be put) as some kind of cool feature rather than a serious obstacle to carrying any kind of load. This seems to me one of the worst features – it appears that any cargo will have to be carried on the rider’s back. It there is any intent for this thing to compete with scooters for short distance commuting, having no place to carry stuff is going to kill that concept fast.

To say nothing of the fact that competitive products with better design and a price well under $1000 are currently available.

The article covers those points -