Russian accents in "The Americans"

I’m binging on the second season of The Americans and am hoping any Russian speakers out there can comment on the Russian accents and dialogue. How good are the actors’ accents? Do they seem like real Russian speakers or do they sound like they learned their lines phonetically? How idiomatic/natural is the Russian dialogue? Was it translated by a native speaker or run through a translation machine?

I am not an expert in Russian but I do have a limited (but practical) fluency and have worked with Russians and Ukrainians. The use of Russian is limited to fairly basic exchanges (not a lot of use of idiom) but it does appear to be fairly authentic and using the informal “conversational” Russian rather than the more formal “literate” Russian that is taught in college courses. Several of the actors portraying Russian Embassy officials are actually Russian or of Russian heritage, and their accents are at least passable as native speakers to my ears (whether they reflect regional variations from which the characters come beyond my ability to assess).

When any of the American actors portraying Russian ‘illegals’ (agents without cover, e.g. Keri Russell, Matthew Rhys) speak Russian, however, it is clear that they have learned the lines phonetically, but they do so with such limited frequency (almost exclusively in flashback scenes) that it doesn’t really mater. (To be fair, Rhys conceals his native Welsh accent masterfully and never sounds less than the neutral American his character is supposed to be portraying.)