Game of Thrones n3wb: Cersei is so funny

Now, before I begin, I should acknowledge two things:

(1) I am a Game of Thrones newbie. I’ve only seen the show through S2 episode 8.
(2) It’s possible things change later, or the books reflect a different light.

However, given that: Cersei is a brilliantly drawn picture of what immaturity looks like in someone given far too much power and influence. It’s both perfect and incredibly hilarious, or at least it would be if the consequences weren’t so serious. I have to keep reminding myself that the actress is actually acting the part because it’s such a well-done portrayal. I literally went over to my favorite search engine yesterday, typed in “Cersei is an idiot,” and found an entire forum thread dedicated to just that proposition. :smiley:

I’ve seen some of those high school dramas, which annoyed the hell out of me even when I was a teenager. Somehow, seeing a preppie cheerleader put into a world where her petty antics get thousands upon thousands killed is remarkably amusing. Seeing her slowly (well, not at all slowly) destroy her own position by constantly attacking her best allies, ignore all reality so long as she can keep living in her little picturebook world another day, and usually get herself completely outplayed all the while never ceases to entertain me.

At some point, I realized I was watching a well-dressed version of Neelix from Star Trek: Voyager. Neeliz, for those blessedly not in the know, was an obnoxious little pest the writers could never quite figure out. They believed he would be a funny breakout character, but the writing was so poor that he become this ugly millstone around the series. (Much later they sort of got this sorted out. Sort of.) Neelix tended to believe he was being remarkably clever when he was generally causing more hardship for everyone else, and never entirely understood why most of the things he did fell apart into shit. And that’s basically Cersei. She’s just more narcissistic.