I'm a Liberal Professor, and My Liberal Students Terrify Me: Their Sensitivity and Paranoia

I don’t recall this atmosphere when I went to college–quite some time ago. I have no connection to the current academic world and am interested if this is common.

One major difference in the last couple of decades is that most professors now lack any labor protection (tenure) in an extremely tight job market, and so any vaguely negative report from a student can kill them.

There is also a genuine shift in which students are more likely to complain about being offended or emotionally injured. Though it’s worth noting that this professor’s sole personal example involved a conservative student–which is a rather odd proof of the thesis that his liberal students terrify him.

He is talking about all this stuff that ‘would’ happen if there was a complaint about him, but it’s an entirely hypothetical scenario. Nobody has complained and he hasn’t been fired or forced to change his teaching methods, so why should we be convinced that he is correct rather than just paranoid himself? Plus as has been mentioned his one complaint so far was from a conservative student, so his conclusion that liberals are to blame for why he can’t teach what he wants seems a little biased.

To be honest it all smacks of ‘it’s political correctness GONE MAD’ handwringing. Students have a right to complain if they feel a teacher has offended them and teachers have a right to defend themselves. The only evidence we have that the system is biased against the teachers is ‘because I say it is’.

That conservative student’s complaint was no threat to him. The complaint had already been dismissed in his director’s mind before she even heard his side of the story. The same is not true when censor-happy little shits try to silence lecturers with accusations of “creating a hostile environment” and “retaliation” under Title IX.