Nom de Plume, the Lewis Carroll version.

Like Lewis Carroll I have always feared fame to the point of gifting my credits to other, non-typically credited co-workers when I worked in the film industry.

I have, for several years, been blessed with a fairly successful nature photography “hobby” which I avoid most attribution by selling my photos through a rights managed stock house which works well in that medium. But due to the realities of my main career I do not have the time to spend to fully dedicate for this pursuit so I have been exploring with more artistic forms of photography and portraits. I really do enjoy and I earnestly appreciate others enjoying my work. However I have no desire to be acknowledged for that work.

I only share this work with some of my photographer friends and have to this point have chosen to not exhibit nor sell this work. Unfortunately this is starting to limit the talent that I can work with as I cannot provide a portfolio nor can I promise the exposure this level of talent typically wants.

So my question to the dope is what is your opinion of those whom use a pseudonym?

If you have known anyone who has used a pseudonym do you have any tips on how to respectfully ask that your fellow artists and friends avoid “breaking through a disguise which it is my most earnest wish to maintain.”

Should I just buck up and deal with the “pain” of compliments?

Thank you for any input.

I know a small handful of artists and writers who prefer to labor under a pseudonym, and, to be honest, I’ve never seen the point…with one sole exception, and that’s a guy whose name is really dull! I mean, Bob Fudd kind of dull. I can’t blame him for spicing it up with something like Lars Stirling. If I was named Bob Fudd (or the equivalent) I’d spice my name up too.

The others? Really, no point. I think it’s just an affectation for them. I see it as vaguely pretentious, but not obnoxiously so.