Why don't cigarettes set off smoke detectors?

I just think it is odd that the second my one piece of toast get dark brown my smoke detector is sounding the alarm but when I have a ton of friends over and the place looks like a fog factory it doesn’t even make a peep.

Vex

I can’t be too sure about this but in my days as a firefighter, I remember something about some smoke detectors that are activated by heat more then smoke. I have the same problem with my smoke detector, I smoke and nothing happens, I bake cookies and every one in the house goes off. I’m not a very good cook :slight_smile:

How smoke detectors work. Short version–there are two different kinds. One kind is activated by a photoelectric cell, which detects the way a light shines through smoke, and which are better at detecting big smoky fires.

And there are ionization detectors, which is what most home smoke alarms are, which work by–um, I don’t get it either, but you can read it about it at the link. Something to do with americium and ions.

Anyway, this is the kind that’s better at detecting the smaller amounts of smoke in a hot house fire.

I have no idea why burning toast would set off your alarm and a houseful of smoky friends wouldn’t, but I bet that someone will be along in a minute who does know.

BTW, it’s sprinkler systems that are triggered by high heat, not smoke alarms.

http://www.townofajax.com/newsletter/releases/sprinkle.html

If you get eough smoke in a small enough volume then ciggy smoke will set off the detectors.

Some sensors are operate on the rate of temperature rise, so that if the heat of the room changes slowly to a high level or it has a high ambient temperature, like a boiler house, they won’t go off unless there is a sudden change.