Old 08-04-2003, 12:09 AM

Keys to a successful horror story?

Maybe this better belongs in "Cafe Society," or even "Great Debates" And heck, I even considered writing the question as "...a successful horror story/movie." But I'd like to ask...well, just what the title says.

I mean, as an aspiring writer, I know the basic tenets of "if the audience has a good time reading or watching the story, you've done something right." And "if the audience starts screaming the equivalent of 'She's in the attic!', you've screwed up." But...are there any particular "guidelines" to the genre of Horror that are useful to know?

Or, at least, are there any common cliches that I should try and avoid?

Well, thanks for your time,

Ranchoth
Old 08-04-2003, 12:14 AM

Re: Keys to a successful horror story?

As a consumer, I like surprise endings.
Old 08-04-2003, 12:32 AM

Monster rules: Either don't let us SEE the monster, so our imagination draws something very scary in, or let us see it, but have it be really cool and scary.

Read Stephen King's On Writing and Danse Macabre. There's also a book edited by Castle called "Writing Horror" that is very good.

Read the classics. Frankenstein. Dracula. Etc. And read lots and lots, not just horror, but everything.

Gore, used in moderation, can be scary. Splatterfests usually aren't.

Know the rules before you decide to break them.

Like a good restaurant, great atmosphere can make up for a lot.

Good luck in a very hard genre.
Old 08-04-2003, 01:43 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by GMRyujin
Like a good restaurant, great atmosphere can make up for a lot.