View Poll Results: Trader Joe's or Whole Foods?
Trader Joe's - strongly prefer 61 51.69%
Trader Joe's - slightly or moderately prefer 18 15.25%
No preference 20 16.95%
Whole Foods - slightly or moderately prefer 11 9.32%
Whole Foods - strongly prefer 8 6.78%
Voters: 118. You may not vote on this poll

Old 01-12-2019, 02:43 PM

Trader Joe's vs Whole Foods

I am a semi-regular at Trader Joe's and I stopped in to Whole Foods today on a whim. I was quite impressed at the selection and layout. Didn't buy much - an avocado, a lime, some grapes and some peppery feta - but there were many more items I would have liked to grab.

Anyway, I'm curious if anyone has a strong preference one way or the other.

The poll is intended for those who are familiar with both establishments.

mmm
Old 01-12-2019, 02:54 PM
Charter Member

I like them both but for different reasons. Trader Joe's is good for frozen stuff you can just pop in the oven or microwave when you don't have a lot of time to make dinner. They also tend to be reasonably priced.

Whole Foods is expensive, and therefore I only shop there for special occasion meals or to get ingredients I can't get reliably anywhere else.
Old 01-12-2019, 03:00 PM
Charter Member

I go to both, and to “regular” supermarkets pretty much every week because I get different things at different places.

It would be too expensive to just buy everything at Whole Foods, but there are some things there that are irreplaceable, such as the cheese counter or the hot food bar or the dairy car or locally roasted coffee.

Trader Joe’s on the other hand doesn’t have a wide enough selection to serve as a sole source of groceries, but they have several unique items that aren’t replaceable.

So I don’t quite know how to answer the question. They are both—along with the regular supermarket—a necessary part of my routine.

Last edited by Acsenray; 01-12-2019 at 03:01 PM.
Old 01-12-2019, 03:09 PM