Old 02-12-2019, 10:23 AM

Why all the love for the Dairy Queen Blizzard?

I've been hearing about the Dairy Queen Blizzard for several years. I read that it helped revitalize their business

We had dinner at a restaurant and wanted desert.

We decided to try the strawberry blizzard they're promoting..

It was standard soft serve ice cream, chocolate pieces, and some blended strawberry pieces.

It was OK. The rock hard, cold chocolate pieces were a bit off-putting. Honestly, I'd prefer a strawberry sundae. I like the syrup topping on a sundae.

At almost $5 with tax it seemed pricy for basic soft serve ice cream.

Here it is.
https://www.chewboom.com/2019/02/01/...h-ghirardelli/

Why all the love for the DQ Blizzard?

Is there something I'm missing?

Last edited by aceplace57; 02-12-2019 at 10:28 AM.
Old 02-12-2019, 10:28 AM

Some of them are pretty good..that one doesn't sound like it's up my alley. I don't get them very often at all, but for a while they were my go-to depression/stress food. M&M and Oreo are probably my favorites.

ETA: Not sure about your store, but the one I used to frequent would hand them to you upside down...I guess to prove how, like, upside down the ice cream was? Anyway, there were a couple times I ordered one in the drive-through on a 100 degree day, and the panicked look of "For the LOVE OF GOD TAKE THE THING BEFORE IT FALLS OUT!" on the employees face as she held it out the window was priceless.

Last edited by Sicks Ate; 02-12-2019 at 10:30 AM.
Old 02-12-2019, 10:30 AM

My biggest issue is the soft serve ice cream. There was very little taste too it.

No vanilla at all. It just wasn't premium soft serve ice cream.

I'll try the M&M Blizzard next time.

Last edited by aceplace57; 02-12-2019 at 10:32 AM.
Old 02-12-2019, 10:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceplace57 View Post
My biggest issue is the soft serve ice cream. There was very little taste too it.

I'll try the M&M Blizzard next time.