PDA

View Full Version : Has Anyone Ever Met Their Teen-Age "Crush"?

Marsie
03-29-2003, 05:40 PM
Has anyone ever met their teenage idol or "crush"? Jose Feliciano's wife Susan ran his fan club when she was a teenager. (I was a member.) A few years ago I looked him up on the internet and saw that his wife was named Susan. I e-mailed her and indeed, after high school graduation she went to work for him. One thing led to another and now they have three kids and live in Connecticut.

My husband and I were invited to his 55th birthday party and sat in the front row at his concert at Carnegie Hall. He was very nice.

Through the years I have met quite a few "celebrities" and can't say that they "glow".

dejahma
03-29-2003, 06:07 PM
Not a teen crush, but I met Scott Carpenter. He visited the college where I was an assit. prof of aeroscpace engineering. A career I choose based on the early space program. It was a rush for me.

KSO
03-30-2003, 10:50 AM
When I was a freshman in high school, I had the most awful crush on a senior--he was IT as far as I was concerned, but since I looked like a ten year old boy and had the social skills of child raised by wild dogs, I never even got a hello from him. This was in 1980. Anyway, about 6 or 7 years ago, there was a story about him in the local newspaper--he's now bald and pudgy and living down south somewhere and has become very, very religious--pretty much the complete and total opposite of me. So, I don't WANT to meet him.

Marsie
03-30-2003, 12:31 PM
I had a similar experience. My high school "crush" was featured in our city magazine's "Where Are They Now" column. Ugly doesn't begin to describe it. Plus, he has something like eight children. I'm glad I didn't end up with him.

Also, another man I thought the sun rose and set on when I was single recently ended up having a very messy divorce. Who knew that he was that whacked out? Jesul, peez...thank the Lord above he didn't show any interest in me!

whiterabbit