PDA

View Full Version : TiVo/Wireless Help, please!


DeVena
04-04-2005, 04:25 PM
We have a wired router/home network with two computers. We also have 1 TiVo unit not attached to the network. Well, DeHusband has ordered another TiVo and wants to buy a new computer... And he wants to go wireless. Lovely, I'd rather not have blue cables strewn throughout my house or new holes in the walls. But we have no clue on how to do this.

So. How do you set up a wireless home network with 2 computers and 2 TiVos? What equipment do we need? What kinda money are we talking about?

Anne Neville
04-04-2005, 05:07 PM
So. How do you set up a wireless home network with 2 computers and 2 TiVos? What equipment do we need? What kinda money are we talking about?

It's been a while since we set ours up, but from memory...

You'll need:

A wireless router of some sort. You can get one for $60-70

A wireless card for each computer. Each of these will cost about the same as the router IIRC.

A wireless network adapter for each TiVo. I don't remember what these cost, but IIRC it wasn't as much as the router or cards.

You will need a phone connection to set up the TiVo initially, but you shouldn't need it again after that.

friedo
04-04-2005, 05:47 PM
You will need a phone connection to set up the TiVo initially, but you shouldn't need it again after that.

You can do the initial setup without a phone connection, by using the top-secret trick of setting your dialing prefix to ",#401". (Note the comma.) Some have reported that this only works over wired ethernet connections, but some others report they've gotten it to work over wireless. Nonetheless, once you have the thing setup, wireless should work fine.

Bruce_Daddy
04-04-2005, 07:58 PM
You can do the initial setup without a phone connection, by using the top-secret trick of setting your dialing prefix to ",#401". (Note the comma.) Some have reported that this only works over wired ethernet connections, but some others report they've gotten it to work over wireless. Nonetheless, once you have the thing setup, wireless should work fine.
The 401 hack does work for wireless.

While we're at, here's the 30 second hack. http://hacks.oreilly.com/pub/h/491

Note, you have to be watching a recorded program when you do it. :cool:

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.