PDA

View Full Version : Dog food flavor

Rrrockhound
12-03-2006, 08:59 PM
Newbie here, and I joined just to ask this one question. I hope this hasn't been covered before, because I couldn't find a search link.

I'm trying to find out why dog foods don't taste anything like what they're labeled as. In fact, most of them are pretty disgusting, which is strange since dogs seem to favor a lot of the same things people like. I assume there are some foody scents added to dog food that only a dog can smell, but that doesn't explain why dog food should taste so rank. I'm talking specifically about dry foods and treats. I've never worked up the courage to try canned food (although some of it doesn't look half bad).

Chronos
12-03-2006, 09:13 PM
In fact, most of them are pretty disgusting, which is strange since dogs seem to favor a lot of the same things people like.Then again, dogs also favor some things which are pretty disgusting. Roadkill, anyone, or cat turds?

bannerrefugee
12-03-2006, 09:23 PM
I ate a milkbone and found it nearly tastless. My dogs love them. I guess theres no accounting for taste.

Caridwen
12-03-2006, 09:27 PM
This is just my opinion so I probably shouldn't be posting in GQ, but I wonder if dogs actually do like dog food.

If most dogs had a choice between dog food or 'people food', I've never seen a dog that would chose to eat dog food. Probably if I was hungry enough and wasn't given a choice, I'd eat dog food too.

This is what I feed my dog and I don't know about the taste, but it does smell like actual food.
http://www.naturalbalanceinc.com/

Lissa
12-03-2006, 09:41 PM
My dog has some "beef jerky" treats which smell strongly of smoked meat. (So strongly that you can smell it across the room when I open the beg.) But when I tasted one it actually had a sweet flavor-- not meaty at all.