PDA

View Full Version : Remote control switch?


bstenger
09-12-2007, 09:35 PM
Is there any way I can make or buy a switch where I can turn on and off a light across the room with a remote or by shining a laser at it or something like that?

I want to be able to turn a light off remotely without using the Clapper. :D

Q.E.D.
09-12-2007, 09:41 PM
Here ya go (http://koolatrononline.stores.yahoo.net/ir-remote-switch.html).

bstenger
09-12-2007, 09:49 PM
Thanks, that's just what I was looking for.

In case anyone's interested, the same company is selling the same remotes on Amazon for half the price.:

http://www.amazon.com/Koolatron-IR-Remote-Switch-Plug-In/dp/B0006II7CO

Hail Ants
09-12-2007, 10:33 PM
If you want to use multiple switches with light dimmers, timers, remotes etc. (i.e. home automation) then I'd recommend an X-10 system. (http://www.smarthome.com/_/X10_Compatible/_/23X/land.aspx) You can also find them at Radio Shack.

Squink
09-12-2007, 11:47 PM
You can also buy radio powered remotes for about $10.
I got several from Menards/Home despot.
They've a range of about 50 feet, and the signal goes through walls quite nicely.

bstenger
09-13-2007, 09:17 AM
You can also buy radio powered remotes for about $10.
I got several from Menards/Home despot.
They've a range of about 50 feet, and the signal goes through walls quite nicely.
Radio powered remotes? $10 is definitely more my speed. Can you link to examples of any so I can see what they are?

d1a1s1
09-13-2007, 09:28 AM
Like this? Im Lazy (http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&productId=100019302&N=10000003+502458+90401&marketID=90401&locStoreNum=8125)

Squink
09-13-2007, 09:29 AM
Here's one (http://switch-cn.en.alibaba.com/product/50399283/52179992/REMOTE_CONTROL_SOCKET_SERIES/REMOTE_CONTROL_SOCKET.html)

bstenger
09-13-2007, 09:37 AM
Here's one (http://switch-cn.en.alibaba.com/product/50399283/52179992/REMOTE_CONTROL_SOCKET_SERIES/REMOTE_CONTROL_SOCKET.html)
Thanks, Squink. Is that pretty much what the onesavailable at Home Depot look like? Do those work woth those programmable TV remotes that you can get at the dollar store?

bstenger
09-13-2007, 09:39 AM
Never mind, I just noticed that a remote is included. The one at Home Depot for $10 also comes with the remote?

Squink
09-13-2007, 09:57 AM
Yes. There's a plug in wall unit, and a little one button remote switch.

vetbridge
09-13-2007, 11:10 AM
The Clapper (http://www.amazon.com/Clapper-Sound-Activated-Switch-Each/dp/B0000CGKLR)
ETA: oops. didn't see that you didn't want the clapper. Oh well. ;)

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.