PDA

View Full Version : BitTorrent usage questions

KneadToKnow
04-08-2009, 09:02 AM
Mods: I don't think anything I'm asking here crosses the line. If I'm wrong, please accept my apologies in advance.

I'm downloading something via BitTorrent, and it's my first time. It's a large download comprising many separate elements. It's not this, but if it helps, think of an album with 20 or so tracks.

I started the download Sunday, and it told me to expect it to take about 3 days. So far that's proving an accurate estimate. I've been able to watch as, to my surprise, each "track" seems to be downloading in order and then moving on to the next one. I don't know what I was expecting, exactly, but for some reason that surprised me. Here's the thing, even though each "track" is in a standard format (it's not this, but think MP3), I cannot yet open any of the downloaded tracks.

So here's the question: Is this normal? Is there some final part to the download process that will finalize these "tracks" and let them be used, or is it more likely that I'm downloading 3 days worth of useless?

friedo
04-08-2009, 09:07 AM
What makes you think each track is downloading in sequence? BitTorrent works specifically by downloading chunks in a random order.

Unless you set your client to download the files in a specific order (some clients support this) most of the files will be incomplete until the entire download is finished.

ETA: It occurs to me that you may have been looking at the sizes of the incomplete files on disk. Because BitTorrent clients download random pieces, they have to allocate the full size of the file on disk before the data is actually there, so what you've got is a full-size file mostly full of zeroed data.

KneadToKnow
04-08-2009, 09:39 AM