PDA

View Full Version : Chefs and little dishes

california jobcase
11-17-2010, 08:02 AM
Here's a question for all the professional chefs/cooks out there. Do you really put all your ingredients into little separate dishes before you mix the ingredients? I'm betting that's just a TV thing.

Athena
11-17-2010, 08:29 AM
No, they put 'em in BIG separate dishes because they're going to be cooking 300 plates that night and that calls for a lot of garlic/onions/parsley/whatever. :D

Seriously, though, it's called mise-en-place (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mis_en_place), and though I'm not a professional chef, I definitely do that whenever I'm making food that is complex enough to use several different ingredients. If I'm doing a big dinner - many courses/many people, it's next to impossible to get it right without doing proper mise-en-place.

It's just a matter of being organized. When you're at the point where you're doing the cooking, you don't have the time to run to the cupboard, dig around to find that one spice you need, and measure it out before the stuff that's already in the pan burns.

I'm not saying that I never dice up a pepper while I'm waiting for the onion to saute. But in general, if I have the time and I really care about things coming out perfectly, I get everything ready before anything touches the heat. One common issue with people who are learning to cook is that it's difficult to get, say, 3 courses on the table with perfect timing, all of them at the proper temperature and fresh. Part of being able to do that is proper mise-en-place.

Plus, it's just more FUN to cook when you don't have to be doing twelve things at once very quickly because if you don't, the stuff in the pot will burn.

Snake Plissken
11-17-2010, 08:54 AM
Yep, Mise is a must, and nobody touches my mise without dire consequenses.

xanthous
11-17-2010, 08:56 AM