PDA

View Full Version : why "registered" nurse?

grama
07-05-2012, 06:29 AM
My google-fu failed me on this one. Why do people say "I'm a registered nurse" instead of just "nurse", is there a difference? people don't say "I'm a registered teacher/doctor/lawyer"or whatever right?.

Emtar KronJonDerSohn
07-05-2012, 06:51 AM
"Registered Nurse" is the name of their license. There's also "Licensed Practical Nurse" and "Nurse Practicioner" which are other license classes within nursing. Additionally there are Nurse's aids (unlicensed) or Certified Nurse's assistants (licensed) who aren't nurses but perform nurse's tasks under the direction and supervision of a nurse.

Cub Mistress
07-05-2012, 06:55 AM
There are Registered Nurses (RN) Licensed Practical( or in some states Vocational)Nurses (LPN) and Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA, sometimes other titles in other places, patients call them nurses as well as in "bath nurse.") All three are different licenses and have duties/limitations set out by law in state and Federal Nurse Practice Acts. As for why it is "Registered" specifically, I believe that dates back to the days of Florence Nightingale where she trained nurses and their names were placed on a register of professionally trained nurses.

GythaOgg
07-05-2012, 08:25 AM
There are Registered Nurses (RN) Licensed Practical( or in some states Vocational)Nurses (LPN) and Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA, sometimes other titles in other places, patients call them nurses as well as in "bath nurse.") All three are different licenses and have duties/limitations set out by law in state and Federal Nurse Practice Acts. As for why it is "Registered" specifically, I believe that dates back to the days of Florence Nightingale where she trained nurses and their names were placed on a register of professionally trained nurses.