PDA

View Full Version : How can I cook with less mess?

Quartz
03-17-2015, 07:06 AM
Pretty much no matter what I cook, the cooker gets messy. Fat spatters, liquids seep over and spill or condense, etc. How can I reduce the mess?

QuickSilver
03-17-2015, 07:16 AM
Not all messes are entirely avoidable but you can avoid the worst of them by using larger pots and pans and lowering the heat to cook at temperatures and speeds you can more easily control from spilling or splattering all over.

madmonk28
03-17-2015, 07:19 AM
I used to work as a cook and now I like to cook for pleasure. The best way to reduce mess is to spend a little time preparing before you start cooking (get the ingredients out, set up your works station, pull out the knives, tools, measuring cups you need), and clean as you go: have a couple of dishtowels out, use them as your cooking to keep surfaces wiped down. Finally, slow down and take your time.

kayaker
03-17-2015, 07:26 AM
Mise en place and clean as you go. Along with that, we have an unspoken rule that the cook relaxes after dinner while the other person cleans up.

Athena
03-17-2015, 07:39 AM
Clean as you go is the way. I've tried just being less messy, and honestly, that takes more time than cleaning does.

For me, the key to cleaning is two things:

- lots of clean dishtowels/rags in a handy spot. I've been in many kitchens where they have one or two towels stashed in a drawer somewhere, and maybe a couple dish rags. Nope. Have a stack of each, and they need to be on the counter when you're cooking. Personally, I buy bright towels and keep them in a wicker basket on the counter. They look nice, and they're handy.

The reasoning behind this is that if a towel is handy, you'll clean RIGHT NOW. If you have to go looking for a fresh one, you'll wait. Therein lies the trick to a cleaner kitchen.