View Single Post
  #97  
Old 09-10-2019, 12:18 PM
Omniscient is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 17,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellis Dee View Post
No, the play is whistled dead as soon as the ball carrier gives himself up regardless if he's touched or not. Same deal with a QB slide.

EDIT: I believe, but can't confirm, that if you give yourself up but then get up and start running, it's a penalty. Similar to calling for a fair catch and then running.
Both are correct, but it falls in the realm of referee's judgement. On that specific play, if in the chaos, the ref didn't identify the runner as "giving himself up" immediately the clock could have expired. Would probably have been smart of the defender to not touch him and push the choice into the hands of the ref. I also wouldn't have been surprised if the runner got confused and got back up if he weren't touched causing the clock to run.