View Single Post
  #9  
Old 02-03-2020, 09:11 PM
Velocity is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
a) There was a penalty for offensive interference. Huh? Is that like an offensive player unnecessarily messing with a defensive player, I wager?
Yes, the receiver cannot push off on the defender.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
b) There was a penalty for defensive interference! Excuse me, but isn't that THE job of the defense?
The defender cannot run into the receiver before the ball has arrived - and he has to have his eyes looking back at the ball. In this case, the Niners defender was just plain blocking and trucking into the Chiefs receiver without ever looking for the ball.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
d) About that controversial touchdown: I wager the rules say the ball has to break the vertical plane (at the start of the endzone), but I can only assume this is true as long as the ball is attached to some part of the human body?
Yes, ball must be in the ballcarrier's hand. Even if only the tip of the ball breaks the plane, it is a TD.