View Single Post
  #86  
Old 10-13-2016, 07:48 AM
Busy Scissors is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Euston Tavern
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Cat View Post
Exactly - partner knows you are long in hearts, so they are the one who needs to decide whether to increase the sacrifice, based on their values.


Had opener's partner bid (say) 1S, your partner passed, and opener bid 2H, would your system then allow you to double for penalties? I would normally play that the first (non-pass) bid by a partnership is always double for take-out, but in this particular case I think it would be obvious (if partner is paying attention) that the double must be for penalties, as if for take-out you would have done it the first time. On the other hand, the double might alert the opponents to where all the values are, which could help them in the play. What do you think?

.
It's normally better to trust partner to re-open with a double in these sort of situations, which you can then pass. So if you're in the pass-out seat you need to be quite aggressive with your balancing doubles if you suspect pard might be sitting on a trump stack. If you're playing with someone who doesn't grasp this concept then a double like you describe usually gets the message across.

The information you give to the opps when you double is a trade off against the possible penalty you stand to collect, all part and parcel of bidding judgement. You obv want to avoid your double tipping the balance such that declarer takes a winning line - but don't talk yourself out of obvious doubles. It's a truism that people don't double enough at bridge, esp at pairs [imps is more dangerous]. Just look how shiny and new the red cards look compared to the green ones!