View Single Post
Old 08-30-2019, 04:06 AM
Cabin_Fever is online now
Join Date: May 2006
Location: West Coast Michigan
Posts: 1,677
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
There are some stark differences to American baseball.
  • The batsman does not have to run if he hits the ball.
  • The batsman stands in front of a wicket composed of three vertical stumps (sticks) with short bails balanced horizontally on top of the stumps. The runner stands if front of the other wicket. There is a line drawn on the ground in front of each wicket. The line is perpendicular to the line from one wicket to the other.
  • Each time the batsman exchanges places with the runner a run is scored. They can try to score more than once upon each time the batsman hits the ball.
  • The playing field is 360 degrees from the batsman. There is no foul territory as in American baseball.
  • There is a boundary to the field somewhat analogous to the outfield fence at an American baseball field. The boundary is often marked on the ground by a rope.
  • If a batsman hits the ball over the boundary on the fly in any direction then the batsman scores 6 runs.
  • If the batsman hits the ball to the boundary on the ground in any direction then the batsman scores four runs.
  • There are no balls and strikes as in American baseball.
  • The batsman is not required to swing at a bowled ball.
  • If the bowled ball hits the wicket knocking the bail off then the batsman is out (dismissed, in cricket parlance), so the batsman has a strong incentive to swing at any ball that is somewhat close since he only need deflect it from hitting the wicket. Again, the batsman is not required to run.
  • The batsman cannot block the wicket with his body. If a bowled ball hits the batsman and the umpire judges that it would have hit the wicket had it not been blocked by the batsman's body then the batsman is dismissed. (Leg before wicket).
  • The batsman is dismissed if a fielder catches a batted ball on the fly.
  • The batsman or runner is dismissed if the batsman and runner choose to run to attempt to score runs and the fielding team catches the ball and then throws it and hits the wicket before the batsman (or runner) touch the ground beyond line in front of the wicket. The batsman may touch his bat to the ground there to be considered safe (not out).
  • There are a plethora of other means by which a batsman may be dismissed and cricket purists seem to glory in the trivia of what constitutes a dismissal.
  • Six consecutive legal pitches constitute an over.
  • Some formats of the game continue until each team bowls the same number of overs. (e.g. 20/20 cricket) while some continue until each batsman for a team has been dismissed. This can result in a match lasting a couple of hours or continuing for a few days (a Test Match).
  • The same team continues at bat until all of their batsman have been dismissed and then the teams switch position and the second team bats. The time at which one team is continuously at bat is referred to as their Innings. None of the American baseball style of 3 outs to an inning.
Whew! More than I can digest at this early morning hour, but explains a lot. Thanks, but I am even more confused. Where did all these rules develop? Sounds like a committee just made them up to complicate it all. I enjoy watching, but still puzzled by all of it. The television commentators don't help. They assume me, the viewer, knows what they are talking about.

Last edited by Cabin_Fever; 08-30-2019 at 04:10 AM.