Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:39 PM
brujaja is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: the front of beyond
Posts: 4,179

Is gelatin made from pigs now?


I was talking to a Yemeni friend about Moon Pies and how they are sublime, and he told me he can't eat them because they are not halal -- that the marshmallow is made with gelatin that comes from pigs.

I thought gelatin was made from cow hooves?
__________________
"Be excellent to each other."
  #2  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:42 PM
susan's Avatar
susan is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Coastal USA
Posts: 9,352
Some is, some isn't. MoonPies use porkskin, according to their website.

Last edited by susan; 05-17-2019 at 11:43 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:47 PM
brujaja is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: the front of beyond
Posts: 4,179
Oh. Alas.
__________________
"Be excellent to each other."
  #4  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:58 PM
harmonicamoon is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Yucatan, Mexico
Posts: 2,929
Gawd. I haven't had a Moon Pie for 30 years. Knowing they have pig skins, I want one even more!
  #5  
Old Yesterday, 12:10 AM
susan's Avatar
susan is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Coastal USA
Posts: 9,352
Just eat a bag of chicharrones and get it out of your system.
  #6  
Old Yesterday, 01:39 AM
Beckdawrek's Avatar
Beckdawrek is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: So.Ark ?
Posts: 15,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmonicamoon View Post
Gawd. I haven't had a Moon Pie for 30 years. Knowing they have pig skins, I want one even more!
They are not what they used to be.
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 04:25 AM
Shalmanese is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Shenzhen, China
Posts: 7,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by susan View Post
Some is, some isn't. MoonPies use porkskin, according to their website.
What a time to be alive!
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 04:59 AM
Kamino Neko's Avatar
Kamino Neko is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Alternate 230
Posts: 15,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by brujaja View Post
I thought gelatin was made from cow hooves?
Not hooves. Skins and bones. It's collagen, not keratin.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017