Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2020, 12:32 PM
kaylasdad99 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 32,804

Help Me Restore My SDMB Display


No, I didn't accidentally switch to Sultantheme on my iPhone. I'm still on the legacy display.

But it's white text on a black background. Except links, which are lavender. Except that they turn orange when you click them. And the background on banners is a very soft pink.

This abomination has only affected my iPhone 11, which is running Firefox. My desktop computer is a PC browsing on Chrome, and has not been affected.

I'm really not going to be able to sustain this. Would someone please tell me how to change it back? I won't insist on it, but an explanation of how this happened would be a huge bonus for me.

TIA

ETA: when you see a link that's already been visited, it has switched from orange to grey.

Last edited by kaylasdad99; 02-11-2020 at 12:35 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:26 PM
DCnDC's Avatar
DCnDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Dueling Grounds
Posts: 13,484
You might have inadvertently inverted the colors, somehow.

Settings>Accessibility>Display & Text Size>untoggle "Smart Invert" or "Classic Invert"
  #3  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:48 PM
kaylasdad99 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 32,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCnDC View Post
You might have inadvertently inverted the colors, somehow.

Settings>Accessibility>Display & Text Size>untoggle "Smart Invert" or "Classic Invert"
If by "settings," you mean "Settings and Options" in my user CP, I don't have Accessibility, or any of the other things you mentioned.
  #4  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:50 PM
DCnDC's Avatar
DCnDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Dueling Grounds
Posts: 13,484
No I mean the "Settings" on your phone.
  #5  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:55 PM
AHunter3's Avatar
AHunter3 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY (Manhattan) NY USA
Posts: 20,900
May I safely assume that when you look up from your device, the rest of what you look at has not also undergone a color shift?
  #6  
Old 02-11-2020, 02:03 PM
kaylasdad99 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 32,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by AHunter3 View Post
May I safely assume that when you look up from your device, the rest of what you look at has not also undergone a color shift?
You may.
  #7  
Old 02-11-2020, 02:12 PM
kaylasdad99 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 32,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCnDC View Post
No I mean the "Settings" on your phone.
Not much improvement on the SDMB; makes things worse on every other site.

Also, I posted too soon. It IS affecting all my firefox displays on all sites. And the invert stuff was already off. I toggled them both on and back off, with no improvement.

I also cleared my Firefox cache and cycled power with no change.
  #8  
Old 02-11-2020, 02:19 PM
kaylasdad99 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 32,804
Okay, I'm fixed now, but not without a cost. I deleted the Firefox app from the phone , then went back to the app store and loaded it again.
  #9  
Old 02-11-2020, 02:26 PM
DCnDC's Avatar
DCnDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Dueling Grounds
Posts: 13,484
It would appear that Firefox itself has its own "dark mode." If you open the browser settings (the three horizontal lines), down near the bottom is a toggle for "Enable Night Mode." This might have been your problem.
  #10  
Old 02-11-2020, 05:07 PM
kaylasdad99 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 32,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCnDC View Post
It would appear that Firefox itself has its own "dark mode." If you open the browser settings (the three horizontal lines), down near the bottom is a toggle for "Enable Night Mode." This might have been your problem.
Thanks. That has been confirmed to be the case.

No clue how it happened, though. That said, I've been carrying my phone around unlocked in my front pocket. I just pulled it out a few minutes ago, and learned that I had entered several hundred digits on the telephone function. It's just as well I never accidentally hit "Dial." A call to Proxima Centauri would have incurred some serious roaming fees.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2019 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017