Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2019, 09:41 PM
Lucas Jackson's Avatar
Lucas Jackson is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4,327

Attention PhotoShop Mavens... help?


I have an old version of PS (8.0) that I use on a regular basis. Yesterday I was 'cleaning up' my very old Mac (deleting old files, etc) now today PS is acting wonky. Specifically it wont open screen captures. I go to File>Open and select the image. When I click "Open" I get this box:
https://s3.amazonaws.com/gs-geo-imag...366bab15_l.png
which has never come up before. When I click 'open', I get this:
https://s3.amazonaws.com/gs-geo-imag...a63ab068_l.png
NOT my screen capture.

I have "enable" set to 'all documents'. Its never given me any issues before. Someone tell me the cat walked on my keyboard and there's an easy fix for this.
  #2  
Old 12-03-2019, 10:31 PM
beowulff's Avatar
beowulff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Scottsdale, more-or-less
Posts: 16,933
What format is the screen capture?
Photoshop doesn’t understand the format, so it is trying “RAW.”

Do a Get-Info on the screen capture and see what format it actually is.

Do you have an older screen capture that you can try?
  #3  
Old 12-03-2019, 10:42 PM
Lucas Jackson's Avatar
Lucas Jackson is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4,327
Iíll check when I get home but regardless itís been recognizing basic screen captures for about 12 years. In other words Iím not doing anything different. The change seems to be in PS.

Iíll see if I can find an older one that itís opened before. I mentioned that I cleaned out my computer yesterday but I also remember the cat walking on my keyboard while I was working.
  #4  
Old 12-03-2019, 10:56 PM
beowulff's Avatar
beowulff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Scottsdale, more-or-less
Posts: 16,933
Right - the cat may have changed the format of the screen capture.
What OS is this?
  #5  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:12 PM
Lucas Jackson's Avatar
Lucas Jackson is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by beowulff View Post
Do a Get-Info on the screen capture and see what format it actually is.
Thanks beowulff, I suspect it was a cat thing. But your post prompted me to check the file on the image. I was able to do a work around by changing the file name. Itís a hassle but I can make it work. So thanks for the prompt.

As for my OS, itís old. Donít know it off the top of my head but the iMac is about 16 years old.
  #6  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:15 PM
beowulff's Avatar
beowulff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Scottsdale, more-or-less
Posts: 16,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas Jackson View Post
Thanks beowulff, I suspect it was a cat thing. But your post prompted me to check the file on the image. I was able to do a work around by changing the file name. Itís a hassle but I can make it work. So thanks for the prompt.

As for my OS, itís old. Donít know it off the top of my head but the iMac is about 16 years old.
I sure hope you have good backups.
16 years is way past the expected lifespan of a hard drive.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright © 2019 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017