Old 05-31-2019, 01:09 PM
Charter Member

So, how did the Russians get my father-in-law to vote for Trump?

I am a school teacher in a tiny town in far West Texas, but I actually live in a somewhat less tiny town in Central Texas (some 500 miles away). Now that school is out, I will be returning home to my lovely wife, our five dogs, and my father-in-law (FIL) who lives with us.

My FIL and I get along pretty well, but we argue politics all the time. He is pretty much an Archie Bunker type. I am as liberal as Mike Stivic, but I am no "Meathead". At least, I don't think so.

One thing FIL and I argue about is the Russian interference in the 2016 election. From his perspective, he marked his ballot for Donald Trump and no one made him or influenced him to do that. Trump is the candidate he wanted and he marked his ballot of his own free will. In the primary, FIL actually marked his ballot for Rubio, but that didn't work out. FIL was always going to vote for the R candidate, no matter who he/she was or who the D candidate was.

My FIL also assumes that everyone is just like him. This means that everyone who voted for Trump (or Clinton, for that matter) did so of his/her own volition. No one held a gun to their heads and made them vote for anyone. So he does not see any way that the Russians could have possibly influenced his decision. By extension, they could not have influenced anyone's decision.

My FIL is generally a kind a generous man. He is visually impaired and does not participate in social media at all. He probably wouldn't be interested even if he could see well. The TV in his room is pretty much always on FoxNews. However, he does watch the evening news on one or more of the big-three networks -- usually NBC or ABC. (I suspect he doesn't know Lester Holt is black or he would not watch NBC.) He does not watch CNN, MSNBC, etc. at all. When I say "watch", I really mean "listen to". His ability to see anything on the TV screen is very limited.