Old 09-26-2004, 03:32 PM

Open your door, smack a biker?

This is my last sincere question today, I promise. It's a beautiful day, so I went for a drive. So did a buncha bikers.
I know this to be a fable near and dear to the hearts of many motorcyclists, but I suspect urban legend. I've been driving for many years and I've personally seen it happen. I don't know even one rider who's had it happen to them. Always it's a friend of a cousin, etc.
Has anyone ever had a driver in a car open their door in traffic is an attempt to crash your motorcycle? Has anyone ever personally witnessed such an act?
Not the idiot at a curb who's not paying attention, that does happen, but an intentional attempt at murder.
Easy bonus question;
If Harley riders see a guy riding a Harley wearing a conventional helmet instead of one of those little brain buckets, will they yank him off the bike and beat him up?
Peace,
mangeorge
Old 09-26-2004, 04:46 PM

For those dopers not from California, in California it is legal for motorcyles to ride between lanes. AFAIK California is the only state where this is legal.
Old 09-26-2004, 04:56 PM

mg: Has anyone ever had a driver in a car open their door in traffic [in] an attempt to crash your motorcycle?

Gracious, what kind of moron opens their car door in traffic for any reason, even if they're not deliberately attempting to commit vehicular homicide? I was always taught that that's a really dangerous thing to do.
Old 09-26-2004, 05:27 PM
Straight Dope Science Advisory Board

Cyclists get doored all the time in cities like DC, Boston, NYC, but it's a bit different. Usually the situation is a cyclist is passing a stopped car and the driver goes to exit the car without checking behind them. In this case, it is usually inattention, not malice, that causes the problem. I was doored in DC this way.

Is that what you are referring to?
Old 09-26-2004, 05:33 PM
Sith Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by paperbackwriter