Old 10-07-2019, 12:43 PM

Blacksmiths, what's your opininion of Alec Steele

I've been watching Youtube blacksmith Alec Steele and bear in mind I have zero experience blacksmithing. At first I was entertained but there's something off. I think part of it is that he continually calls layered metals "Damascus". I know laypeople call it Damascus but I would think a professional would call it pattern welding since it is not wootz steel. Also, he says I don't know a lot which I thought was self-depricating but now think he really doesn't know. So is he a good blacksmith? Not so good but a good youtuber? Inexperienced blacksmith?

-Richard Hariss
Old 10-07-2019, 05:36 PM
born to be shunned

I can make some basic things I need for the colonial events and I make fairly good knives and tomahawks. He isn't bad but I don't consider him one of the ones to study and mimic except for getting started. I'll forgive the terms he uses sometimes; he is doing it for a YouTube audience after all. But his basic technique is solid.
Old 10-07-2019, 05:48 PM

I find it intriguing that he's not selling iron things on his website, but t-shirts.
Old 10-07-2019, 09:13 PM

I'm not a blacksmith. He is entertaining and charismatic and making a killing as a youtuber.
Old 10-07-2019, 10:03 PM
Corellian Nerfherder

I've done a tiny bit of blacksmithing myself, but I've hung around with several professional and semi-professional blacksmiths for many years, and I worked at a blacksmith shop at a Renaissance Faire for eight years.