Old 10-09-2019, 03:18 PM

Do you have a "happy" job?

I don't. I get well paid and all, and no heavy lifting, but 100% of my job involves dealing with people claiming disability benefits. Even when I'm helping deserving people, it makes for a long a day to hear never-ending tales of people who fail to succeed in this system.

Job pays well, and supports a comfortable lifestyle, but can be awfully draining. But I'm not here to complain and am not looking for sympathy or anything.

I gotta imagine SOMEONE out there has a "happy" job - however you describe it. After the day I just had, I'd love to hear about such jobs.
Old 10-09-2019, 03:44 PM

I'm an Artist. I actually sell some mixed media things. I do sign lettering. Which I love. I did a couple of large floor logos of the school mascot. Hard on the knees. Got paid well. Done a few murals. Hard work that.
Mostly I'm having fun. And am happy.
Old 10-09-2019, 04:09 PM
Charter Member

I do not have a happy job. However, once upon a time I spent several months working an ice cream cart selling Dove bars. That was the happiest job ever. No matter how hot, cold, or bored I got, everyone came to the ice cream cart with happy anticipation, and everyone left even happier.
Old 10-09-2019, 04:44 PM

I wouldn't say I have a happy job. It's not emotionally satisfying, intellectually stimulating or even interesting. It's tedious, repetitive factory work. Bags come down a conveyor belt, ten bags go in a box, box is closed and put on the outgoing belt - repeat for 12 hours a day. The people are great though. We have fun with each other, play good tunes and for the most part, the day flies by. When we're not having fun as a team, I'm alone with my thoughts. Frankly, this is a delight. Hours can go by where I don't have to hear about anyone else's crap.

Considering the nature of the job and my physical limitations, the pay is very good and I have great benefits - my coworkers are a nice fringe benefit.
Old 10-09-2019, 04:49 PM