Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2020, 12:34 AM
flatlined is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: high desert
Posts: 4,464

Regarding the plauge of double posts.. I have a suggestion.


I have noticed that if I post something and then get the dreaded gateway error, my first response was hit back, then to hit post again. For me, that resulted in a double post. What I have learned is that if you back all the way to the thread title, my post is always there.

So, my suggestion is that when you get back to where you hit post the first time, just copy your post and then go back to the page and look. Your post probably is there.

Of course, I am a horrible trainer and even worse at explaining anything if I can't show what I am doing, youse guys might want to just experiment with this thread. My method really does work, and when someone smarter than me comes along and explains it better, everyone will know that I was right this once!

Last edited by flatlined; 03-23-2020 at 12:37 AM.
  #2  
Old 03-23-2020, 02:28 AM
jerez is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 838
Your post belongs in ATMB. I haven't lost a single post since the onset of the board's latest deterioration, and, more to the point, I've had no duplicate posts. In other words, every time I've hit "submit," my contribution has been posted eventually. Typically, once the timeout error message appears, I'll click on a "favorites" link to the board's main page, and, while it's chewing on that, I'll open another window to look at something else and refresh the SDMB window each time the error message appears. I'll sometimes edit a message five or six times, with the accompanying timeouts, and I haven't lost a single message yet. Again: once you've hit submit, you're done.

Last edited by jerez; 03-23-2020 at 02:30 AM.
  #3  
Old 03-23-2020, 07:23 AM
ftg's Avatar
ftg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Not the PNW :-(
Posts: 21,672
I have lost posts due to timeout.

An alternate strategy is to open the thread in a 2nd tab and refresh that to see if the post is there. If not, try a reload in the first tab.

OTOH, I tried that yesterday. I was trying to edit a post. I saw the old version in the 2nd tab. The edit window expired before I could refix it. Grrr. But then later I saw that the fixed version was now there instead. What the what?

Errors are erroneous.
  #4  
Old 03-23-2020, 07:46 AM
Ulfreida is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pangolandia
Posts: 3,954
I write, I copy to a text file, I post, I wait, I refresh, and maybe have to try again maybe not.
  #5  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:15 AM
Chronos's Avatar
Chronos is offline
Charter Member
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The Land of Cleves
Posts: 87,394
I also click "Submit" only once. And I'm still ending up with a lot of double posts. They're not from people submitting twice (or at least, not only from that): They're a genuine glitch in the system.

My advice would be to just not worry about them. Everyone knows you're not doing it deliberately, they don't change meanings, they only make threads a little harder to read, and they're not really doing any other harm. We mods can still delete the duplicates if you really want, but I've stopped even bothering for my own double-posts.
  #6  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:15 AM
Chronos's Avatar
Chronos is offline
Charter Member
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The Land of Cleves
Posts: 87,394
I also click "Submit" only once. And I'm still ending up with a lot of double posts. They're not from people submitting twice (or at least, not only from that): They're a genuine glitch in the system.

My advice would be to just not worry about them. Everyone knows you're not doing it deliberately, they don't change meanings, they only make threads a little harder to read, and they're not really doing any other harm. We mods can still delete the duplicates if you really want, but I've stopped even bothering for my own double-posts.
  #7  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:29 AM
Musicat is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sturgeon Bay, WI USA
Posts: 21,808
Chronos' example also shows that the dupe post function doesn't always work. His last two posts look identical, and have the same time stamp, but they weren't flagged as dupes by vB. (Unless he used his awesome mod powers to defeat it.)
  #8  
Old 03-23-2020, 10:05 AM
thorny locust's Avatar
thorny locust is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 2,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatlined View Post
I have noticed that if I post something and then get the dreaded gateway error, my first response was hit back, then to hit post again. For me, that resulted in a double post. What I have learned is that if you back all the way to the thread title, my post is always there.

So, my suggestion is that when you get back to where you hit post the first time, just copy your post and then go back to the page and look. Your post probably is there.
You may need to refresh the thread page if you got there by hitting back twice. At least, I sometimes don't see my post when I first get back there, but if I refresh the page then it's usually there.
  #9  
Old 03-24-2020, 03:23 AM
jerez is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
I also click "Submit" only once. And I'm still ending up with a lot of double posts...
We must be doing something differently, because I've posted dozens of times in recent weeks without any double posts.

As noted above, when I try to post and get an error message, I try going to the SDMB main page until I succeed, and my new post is always there. Without exception.
  #10  
Old 03-24-2020, 03:31 AM
Grrr!'s Avatar
Grrr! is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 16,923
IME, every time it buffers or time outs when I submit a post. My post has ALWAYS been there.

The only weird one was I submitted the post, it timed out and then when I went to go look for the post, it was there but it didn't bump the thread.
__________________
"What kind of a man desecrates a defenseless textbook?"
  #11  
Old 03-24-2020, 09:16 AM
Ashtura is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,795
My suggestion is to allow us to delete our own posts until this is fixed.
  #12  
Old 03-24-2020, 09:47 AM
Chronos's Avatar
Chronos is offline
Charter Member
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The Land of Cleves
Posts: 87,394
I suppose that's proof that the hamsters have a sense of humor.

And yes, when the board is functioning properly, it's not even possible to make a double post like that, even if you try, nor do I know of any way to use mod powers to override that. Key words there, "when the board is functioning properly". My guess is that the duplicate-post detector is simply given a low priority, and that when the board is under significant strain, it automatically drops low-priority tasks (though I don't know why the duplicates show up in the first place).
  #13  
Old 03-24-2020, 10:13 AM
Velocity is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16,947
Yeah I have occasionally had the experience of Chronos: Only hitting submit once and yet still getting double-posted. Nothing I could do except just edit the second post to read "double post" and leave it at that.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2019 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017