Old 07-10-2019, 09:16 PM
2018 Midterm Prediction Winner

Is it possible the Epstein case is one of the 12 redacted Mueller cases that got handed off?

I thought a dozen cases from the Mueller investigation had been handed off to other agencies since they didn't fall under the special council's purview and because they were still ongoing they were redacted.

Was the Epstein case possibly one of them, or was that a totally different investigation unrelated to the Mueller investigation? Or do we really not know why the SDNY picked up the Epstein investigation after all these years? Epstein has been a known pedophile for years, I'm not sure why they are investigating him now.

Last edited by Wesley Clark; 07-10-2019 at 09:17 PM.
Old 07-10-2019, 09:48 PM

I have no particular knowledge from the news, but I speculated that Michael Cohen might have been providing information about payoffs and non disclosure agreements during that time his sentence was delayed because he was talking to the US Attorneys. I think the Enquirer guy also might have given information about similar issues - hiding or burying evidence of “indiscretions.”

And as long as I’m speculating, I’ll add this - the feds tend to work by going after “low hanging fruit” and then squeeze those people with the prospect of a plea deal in exchange for cooperation. They call it a “proffer” when a defendant goes in and talks to the prosecutors about what he knows about others. (A kid can dream).

Regardless of his plea, I do imagine that Epstein is going to be financially ruined. From what I’ve read here on the Dope, that might be another spectacular unraveling, too.
Old 07-10-2019, 10:18 PM

The impetus for the current proceedings appears to be this Miami Herald article by Julie K. Brown from late last year about Jeffrey Epstein and Alex Acosta.