Old 02-02-2020, 01:24 PM
I'm nice, dammit!
Charter Member

Food you won't order in a restaurant because your version is better

When I go out to eat - think nice meal here, not something you just grab and go - there are certain items I won't even consider. It's not that I think I'm a great cook, but I don't see the sense in ordering something I can make as well, or even better, than a restaurant.

For example - meatloaf. It's a pretty basic item, and I can't imagine a spectacular meatloaf. Also mac-n-cheese. Yeah, you can put lobster in it, but that seems a waste of perfectly good lobster.

Even spaghetti - it's pasta with sauce. Nothing wrong with it, but it's so basic as not to be special enough to warrant ordering it at a restaurant.

Oddly enough, I'm OK ordering most breakfast foods, with the exception of cold cereal and milk - that doesn't belong in a restaurant. Seriously!

Am I alone in this? Are there things you would never consider paying someone else to prepare for you?
Old 02-02-2020, 01:50 PM

I feel the same way about some of the things you've mentioned. Potato salad is pretty common where I live, and most of it is good, but mine's better. Damn near perfect! Other things like iceberg lettuce in salads and long-grain rice in certain dishes don't fly with me.
Old 02-02-2020, 02:08 PM
Charter Member

I can't do much more "cooking" than grilling, but I'm pretty good at it. The one item that's a no-brainer for me is steak.
Old 02-02-2020, 02:10 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

If I order pasta in a restaurant it had better come with a duck ragu or a wild boar sauce that’d be too much of a pain in the ass to make at home.

Schnitzel is easy to make, but who wants to clean up the mess on the stovetop?

OTOH, I think a diner or coffee shop breakfast is one of the last inexpensive luxuries remaining to us. Omelette, hash browns, sausages, buttered rye toast, please.
Old 02-02-2020, 02:13 PM
Charter Member

Poached eggs.
Old 02-02-2020, 02:15 PM